Leave a comment

Images to quilts


‘ Images to quilts’  that is what is keeping my thoughts  and hands busy.

IMG_0199P1110868-001

I have been busy last few weeks. I have been updating all my albums stored in my computer, sorting them out.Starting of the new group ‘Images to quilts’ was  close to my heart  as  that is what is really me as a quilter, I like sharing my thoughts with like minded people. I did not take much time to pick this name to my group or the workshop as ‘that is me’ all along . I am a photographer first and quilter later.   As I pulled piece after after piece of my old quilts  I realized they all had some image inspiration  from my own travels  and  my photographs.

That is what I really like as a quilter and hobby photographer combined together. The workshops i did on images to quilts -landscapes was the best for me as a teacher  I enjoyed doing them. I do paper piecing too. But that is an existing technique and the creative juice flow is limited where as in images to quilts I  involved techniques which I invented, and modified with each quilt, and that is fun part.

Jamal 2my quiltsP1020566-001

The scores of tours I did all over the world with my family  has yielded in loads of photographs.The Great Wall of China, the  sunsets of Scandinavia , Russia, Petra,Dead sea in Jordan, Machu Pichu in Peru, the snow peaks of Kashmir,Pyramids of Egypt,Tajmahal in Agra,Leaning tower of Pisa,the skyscraper in New york, lake Titicaca,  the Niagara falls, the rocky mountains in Oman,   landscapes in India,the list can go and on. As I sit back and look at the images from this travels I wonder is this life time enough to convert them into quilts.

But the few I am doing now is giving me such immense pleasure. I don’t mind how many I do but it makes me happy and takes me back in time to my travels and the beautiful time I spent with my family.
IMG_3864
316112

Leave a Reply

