Leave a comment

Waqanki And The Butterfly-Theme quilt


This  quilt of mine in one of my favorites. It is favorite because of the fond memories it brings back from Peru to  me.I am stuck at theme quilts and this one represents the  theme ‘Harmony In Nature”

I planned this quilt while touring in Peru. I was looking for a subject for the theme quit challenge ‘Harmony’ and when I saw the Waqanki in an orchid garden surrounded by butterflies, I saw a perfect scene of ‘Harmony with Nature’.

The ‘Waqanki orchid’ in this quilt  is  created by  Imagery and thread painting . The Butterfly is embroidered  by hand and  embellished with sequins and beads,The back ground is machine quilted and appliqued.

Waqanki Orchids are pollinated by butterflies.The story says that the orchid resembles the tear drops of an Inca princess who is forbidden to marry her prince.

Leave a Reply

